You are here

ASCO 2014 Chicago

SARC Meeting

Meeting summary from Scott Okuno, MD, SARC Medical Officer. It is hard to believe another SARC semiannual meeting is over, and we are all back at work at our own institutions. A lot has happened in the past six months since we last met in New York, and it was great seeing all of you in Chicago on May 30, 2014. We extend our thoughts and prayers to Chand Khanna as he recovers from a major illness, and to Kristen, his wife, and children as they have been on his side supporting Chand.

For those who were unable to attend our meeting, here is a summary:

Denise Reinke began the meeting welcoming all to SARC’s semiannual meeting and showing our new logo and plans for an update to our website. 

In Chand’s absence, Bob Maki moderated the Chawla Rosnefeld Developmental Therapeutic Symposium. We had outstanding presentations by Patricija van Oosten-Hawle, Luke Whitesell, Thomas De Raedt, and AeRand Kim. The focus of this symposium was on regulation of proteostasis (Heat-shock networks) from bench to clinic.  The symposium is a highlight of the SARC meeting and set the tone for the rest of ASCO.

Jonathan Keats gave a demonstration of SARC’s genomic data portal [LINK HERE]. It is available for all to use. So please check it out and give us feedback.

The SARC clinical trial update introduced two new trials:

  • SARC024: Phase 2 trial of regorafenib in refractory lipo, oseo, and Ewing/Ewing-like sarcoma
  • SARC025: Phase I trial of niraparib and temozolomide in incurable Ewing Sarcoma

There was great discussion on the rationale and trial design for these studies. We look forward to activation and accrual this summer.

The SARC Sarcoma S.P.O.R.E. update was presented by Raphael Pollock. An in depth presentation of Project 4 of the S.P.O.R.E.: Development of quantitative imaging biomarkers for assessing response to sarcoma therapy, was given by Jeffrey Yap. It was great to learn all that is going on with this project of S.P.O.R.E.

James Chen, Armelle Dufresne David Liebner, and Cesar Serrano-Garcia were recognized as recipients of the SARC Sarcoma S.P.O.R.E. 2014-2015 Career Development Award. Drs Zhenfen Duan, Jonathan Fletcher, Adrian Marino-Enriquez, David Kirsch, Rebecca Dodd, David Langenau, Charles Keller, Stephen Lessnick, Sunil Sharma, and Brian Rubin were recognized as SARC Sarcoma S.P.O.R.E. 2014-2015 Developmental Research Program Grant Recipients. We know that these funds will be used to make progresses in the fight against sarcoma.

We would like to thank you all for making this meeting possible and your continued support of SARC. We also want to thank the SARC office staff for all that you do to allow clinical trials for our patients to occur. We look forward to seeing you all this fall at CTOS in Berlin.

Download the meeting agenda.